temple-jeollanam-do-300x194

Over the course of a few decades, South Korea has been transformed from a developing country into an impressive global economic power. It is the world capital of cosmetic surgery.

Hard work, hierarchy, and protocol are the watchwords of Korean society. Tradition coexists side by side with cutting-edge technologies. Indeed, South Korea is the world’s most advanced country in terms of high-tech.

Korean culture has many unique aspects. You can discover some of them by browsing the pages of my blog. First an foremost, it is important to pay attention to the roles occupied by men and women in South Korean society, particularly if you intend to visit the country. That applies whether you are thinking of visiting for a holiday or moving there.

South Korea is a country that has very few foreign visitors. As such, Koreans who have not had the opportunity to travel will not necessarily be familiar with your culture and will not always have sufficient English to hold a conversation. Some people will therefore avoid entering into discussion with you, which does not necessarily indicate a lack of respect. Be aware that you will be a kind of “ambassador” for your country once you arrive in South Korea. That applies no matter where you’re from. Consider, therefore, the quality of your interactions with the Korean people and the impression that you will leave them with at the end of your stay.

Also note that Koreans place a great deal of importance on a person’s age. Seniors, such as “Ajummas” (women who can be recognised via their outfits – floral blouses and bumbags) are unlikely to have any foreigners among their immediate acquaintances. Some of them, therefore, will come and speak warmly to you, while others may be reticent to approach you.

South Korean suffered from war during the early part of the 20th century and during the Second World War. The country spent half a century fighting to rebuild itself. To enable the country to arise from the ashes, the country’s leadership put everything into educating their children. “Hangul” became South Korea’s official alphabet, thanks to its simplicity, enabling the educational system to be established rapidly. This choice made it possible to build an economy from scratch in just a few decades. South Korea has now become an impressive, global economic power. It is thanks to the fact that an entire generation of Koreans was sacrificed to enable the country’s rebirth that this country is so competitive. As such, the population of Korea attaches a great deal of value to the academic success of its children.

Respect for one’s elders is a value that is drilled into every Korean child. The country remains highly traditional, notably as a result of the many festivals that take place throughout the year. Religion also attracts a great many followers. You will find Buddhist temples everywhere, even in the heart of downtown Seoul; nevertheless, the country is currently a majority Christian nation. Other religions are less well represented, and generally practised only by immigrants.south korea

The religious and cultural aspect is widespread among younger generations – but this does not prevent South Korea from being the world’s most advanced country in terms of “high tech” industries. The country has a 5G network, with internet connections being available in the street and even on underground trains – with noticeably more bandwidth than in other countries across the world.

As for fashion, I will simply say that appearances matter – a lot – to South Koreans. Women and girls maintain their image carefully. South Korea is also a major player in the field of cosmetic surgery. The business is lucrative and is designed to meet South Koreans’ expectations. Surgery is therefore a frequent occurrence and considered by Koreans to be a matter of routine. As such, there are many private clinics located in ordinary shopping streets. Surgery is also used by stars, particularly K-pop groups, who have clauses relating to operations (often on the face) included in their contracts.

The position with regard to religion in South Korea is quite surprising because, even though there are a great many Buddhist temples and cultural festivals, a majority of the country is Christian at this point in time.
Buddhism is nevertheless widespread in South Korea. Other religions are less well represented, and generally practised only by immigrants. Religion is not a taboo subject, and everyone is free to practise his or her own religion.

I can’t complete this introduction to South Korea without talking about the way that young Koreans are educated. To start with, children go to classes five or six days per week, as they have a class every other Saturday morning. The school year starts in March. The course of their future careers is predetermined as soon as they enter nursery school. Enrolment in a prestigious school makes it easier for children to get into good schools throughout the course of their educational career. The name of their university is a decisive factor in getting a job with a large company, such as the best known of all, Samsung. You will understand, therefore, that most parents will not hesitate to borrow vast sums to ensure that their children get into the best schools for the sake of their future.

It is a heavy burden to bear at such a young age. That is why school life is referred to as “transfer hell.” This term perfectly expresses the fear that young children feel when faced with their competition, and the fear of failing to get into a good school as a result. They won’t hesitate to take evening classes, pursue extra credit, and enter contests. It’s impossible to find a good job in South Korea without a bachelor’s degree at least, which is awarded after four years of post high-school study.

Success can also be revealed by sporting achievements. The most widely practised sport is taekwondo. It is a martial art that only involves the legs, and which is South Korea’s national sport.

South Koreans have a very different lifestyle from other countries, but the country nevertheless remains highly welcoming. It’s easy to join the crowds during festivals or take a road trip across the entire country. The inhabitants of Seoul are more familiar with foreigners than the rest of the country. By contrast, they are rarer in the countryside, but most Koreans are nevertheless open to discussion and will sometimes be curious about your origins.

temple-jeollanam-do-300x194

La Corée du Sud est passée en quelques décennies d’un pays en voie de développement à une puissance économique mondiale imposante. C’est la capitale de la mode et de la chirurgie esthétique.

Travail, hiérarchie et politesse sont les maîtres-mots dans la société coréenne. La tradition cohabite avec les technologies de pointe. C’est la pays le plus avancé sur le plan high-tech.

La culture coréenne a ses particularités. Vous pourrez en découvrir une partie en parcourant les pages de mon Blog. En premier lieu, il est important de vous intéresser à la place qu’occupent les hommes et les femmes en Corée du sud, surtout si vous comptez partir dans ce pays. Et ceux, que ce soit pour les vacances ou pour s’expatrier.

La Corée du Sud est un pays qui n’a que très peu d’étrangers. Donc, les coréens qui n’ont pas l’opportunité de voyager ne connaissent pas forcément votre culture et n’ont pas toujours un niveau d’anglais suffisant pour tenir une conversation. Certaines personnes éviteront donc de dialoguer avec vous ce qui n’est pas synonyme d’un manque de respect. Sachez que vous aurez la position « d’ambassadeur » de votre pays dès que vous arriverez en Corée du Sud. Et ceux, peu importe vos origines. Pensez donc à la qualité de vos échanges avec les coréens et à l’impression que vous leur laisserez à la fin de votre séjour.

Sachez que les coréens attachent beaucoup d’importance à l’âge. Les séniors, comme les « Ajummas » par exemple, qui sont des femmes reconnaissables grâce à leurs tenues vestimentaires (chemisier à fleur, une banane autour de la taille, …) n’ont pas forcément d’étrangers dans leur entourage proche. Donc, certains d’entre eux viendront vous parler chaleureusement, quand aux autres ils auront peut être des réticences à vous aborder.

La Corée du Sud a souffert de la guerre au début du XXème siècle et pendant la seconde guerre mondiale. Depuis un demi siècle, elle se bat pour reconstruire le pays. Pour renaître de ces cendres, les dirigeants ont tout misé sur l’éducation des enfants. Le « Hangul » est devenu l’alphabet officiel de la Corée du Sud pour sa simplicité ce qui a permis de mettre en place le système éducatif rapidement. Ce choix a permis de développer une économie en quelques décennies. Actuellement, la Corée du Sud est devenue une puissance économique mondiale imposante. Et c’est grâce à toute une génération de coréen qui s’est sacrifiée pour faire renaître la Corée que ce pays est aussi compétitif. C’est pour cela que la population coréenne attache beaucoup d’importance à la réussite scolaire de ses enfants.

Le respect de ses ainés est une valeur inculquée dans l’éducation de chaque coréen. C’est un pays qui reste traditionnel, notamment grâce à ses nombreuses fêtes tout au long de l’année. La religion compte elle aussi de nombreux pratiquants. Vous trouverez des temples bouddhistes partout, même en plein cœur de Séoul, cependant le pays est à présent majoritairement chrétien. Les autres religions y sont encore peu représentées car elles sont pratiquées la plupart du temps uniquement par les émigrés.south korea

L’aspect religieux et culturel très présent chez les jeunes générations n’empêchent pas la Corée du sud d’être le pays le plus avancé au monde sur le plan « High Tech ». Le pays possède la 5G : c’est une connexion internet accessible dans la rue, dans le métro, … avec un débit nettement supérieur à celui des autres pays dans le monde.

Et pour ce qui est de la mode, je répondrai simplement que l’apparence est très importante pour les sud-coréens. Les femmes et les jeunes filles soignent leur image. La Corée du Sud s’impose également dans l’univers de la chirurgie esthétique. Ce business est lucratif et répond aux attentes des coréennes. Les actes chirurgicaux sont donc fréquents et considérés comme banals par les coréens. Il existe donc bon nombre de cliniques privées dans les rues commerçantes. La chirurgie est aussi utilisée par les stars, notamment les groupes de K-pop qui ont des clauses sur les opérations, souvent liées au visage, incluses dans leurs contrats.

Quant à la religion pratiquée en Corée du sud, c’est assez surprenant car même si il y a des temples bouddhistes et des festivals culturels en grand nombre, le pays est à présent majoritairement chrétien.
Le bouddhisme est quand même très présent en Corée du Sud. Quant aux autres religions, elles ne sont que très peu présentes car elles sont pratiquées la plupart du temps uniquement par les émigrés. La religion n’est pas un sujet tabou, et chacun peut pratiquer la sienne librement.

Je ne peux pas faire cette présentation sans vous parler de l’éducation des jeunes coréens. Pour commencer, les élèves vont en cours entre cinq et six jours par semaine car ils ont cours un samedi matin sur deux. Ils commencent l’année scolaire en mars. Quant à leur avenir professionnel, il se joue dès leur entrée en section de maternelle. Intégrer une école prestigieuse facilite l’admission des élèves dans de bonnes écoles tout au long de leurs études. Le nom de leur université est déterminant sur l’obtention d’un poste dans une grande compagnie, à l’image de la plus connue d’entre toutes « Samsung ». Vous comprendrez donc la plupart des parents qui n’hésitent pas à emprunter des sommes colossales pour que leurs enfants intègrent les meilleures écoles et assurent leur avenir.

C’est lourd à porter pour les jeunes. C’est pourquoi, dans le parcours scolaire, on l’appelle « L’enfer des transferts ». Ce terme traduit parfaitement la peur des jeunes face à la concurrence et face à l’échec d’intégrer de bonnes écoles.Ils n’hésitent pas à prendre des cours du soir, option supplémentaire, concours … Il est impossible de trouver un bon emploi en Corée du sud sans avoir au moins un Bachelor, d’une durée 4 ans après le bac.

La réussite peut aussi se révéler par des exploits sportifs. Le plus pratiqué d’entre tous est le taekwondo. C’est un art martial qui ne se pratique qu’avec les jambes et qui est le sport national en Corée du Sud.

Les sud-coréens ont un mode de vie très différents de celui de beaucoup de pays, mais c’est un pays qui n’en reste pas moins très accueillant. Vous pourrez facilement vous mêler à la foule lors des festivals et faire un road trip dans tout le pays. Les habitants de Séoul sont davantage habitué aux étrangers. En revanche, c’est plus rare dans les campagnes mais la plupart des coréens restent malgré tout ouverts à la discussion et seront parfois curieux sur vos origines.